Taking a pottery class for first time, Summer 2013

I have dabbled in clay but without a kiln it’s kinda not the same.  This summer I decided to just suck it up and take a pottery class to understand the innerworkings of what it takes to actually make a decent, useable coffee cup.

Here are a few interesting items I have been able to make:

Pinch pot tea bowl with Pat's oil spot glaze on it.

Pinch pot tea bowl with Pat’s oil spot glaze on it.  Hideous, but done.

My Day of the Dead Alter, thank you very much! M. Gilbertsen 2013 - this is before it has been bisqued.

My Day of the Dead Alter, thank you very much! M. Gilbertsen 2013 – this is before it has been bisqued.

I had to create a slab-built piece with a bottom and at least two sides.  Check!

Once it’s been final fired with glaze it should look better… I hope.

Pottery/ceramics/doorstops... Summer 2013

Fabulous side-view of Pottery/ceramics/doorstops… Summer 2013

This assignment was to make a continuous curve bowl.  Well, I made a bowl.  Outta 15 pounds of clay, I believe.  Wow.  That’s gotta count for something.

My continuous curve bowl.  The wheel is a scary, scary place to be.  It is soooo much harder than it looks!

My continuous curve bowl. The wheel is a scary, scary place to be. It is soooo much harder than it looks!

Stay tuned for the next installment that has the pieces all bisqued, glazed and final fired.  I’m so excited!  Tomorrow we unload the kiln and I learn what worked and well, what can be recycled.  Hunh.

