Stained Glass style Door, 2003

Abstract stained glass style painted recycled door - Turned into a hall tree for a client's foyer.

Abstract stained glass style painted recycled door – Turned into a hall tree for a client’s foyer.  M. Gilbertsen, 2003

 

I was asked to add arts and crafts style hooks to the door by some clients so that it could function as art but also as a hall tree.   Cool idea!

I had my husband help me to create a “floating hanging system” so that the door hung off the wall by an inch or two.  here it is at a show in St. Helens, Oregon.

It’s painted with oils which have some really nice body for texturing and mix really interestingly…this was one of my early works learning how to use oils.  The door is  actually sealed with a couple layers of high gloss but the photo doesn’t really highlight that – pity, it really made the colors pop!

