Plantation House Pizza, 2006

Plantation House Pizza sign, M. Gilbertsen 2006  sitting in my studio before being hung.

Plantation House Pizza sign, M. Gilbertsen 2006 sitting in my studio before being hung.

 

I painted this sign for a local up-scale pizza restaurant in St. Helens, Oregon in Old Town.   It was the first time I had ever used nasty auto-grade paints that required wearing a respirator and eye protection – geeze!  I needed to learn what the professionals were using and this was it.   I did love the way the paint responded to different techniques and the owner especially loved the aged look and the graphic quality of the finished product.

Another challenge I had to overcome:  this was a double-sided sign that had to MATCH ABSOLUTELY on both sides.  I created the layout and the graphic on the sign for this original project.  Getting all the layers to match on both sides while factoring in a lengthy drying period made for a long, drawn out process, but the paint never faded in the hot sum and weathered extremely well.  

 

