Ode to Seuss Hat 2008

My fabulous friend, Micki, modeling my mixed media creation sculptury thingy!  2008

My fabulous friend, Micki, modeling my mixed media Seussy sculpture-y thingy! 2008

 

I love using all kinds of materials and nothing is sacred.  I found a snootful of that expensive weird yarn at the Dollar Tree and thought

“I must do something with this!”

I hemmmed and hawwed til I thought, and thought, and then I was struck by the realization:  I need a cool hat.  Or something like that.  Anyways, I couldn’t knit at the time and well, hot glue is a mother, so I found some free wire mesh and started fashioning a cap of sorts.  Then some horns that twisted and then I started wrapping and tying and attaching the yarn to the headdress.  It became very Dr. Seussy but I love the final look and since it only weighs like, 20 pounds, it’s definitely perfect for daily wear.

