“Here Kitty, Kitty”, Linocut 2008

"Here, Kitty, Kitty", M. Gilbertsen, 2010 - hand-pulled linocut.  Part of series "What Lovely Little Children"

“Here, Kitty, Kitty”, M. Gilbertsen, 2010 – hand-pulled linocut. Part of series “What Lovely Little Children”

 

My wonderful friend, Miss Anne, is a retired mid-wife who has probably, in her 72 years, delivered more than 6,000 babies, yet manages to still looks great and retain her child-like curiosity of the world.  To celebrate this I carved a print depicting just what sort of girl Miss Anne might have been before all the babies and such.  I am pretty confident that my illustration was spot-on if you happen to know Miss Anne.

This piece was part of the 2008 Columbia Gallery Halloween show, along with my other Gorey-esque little children.

