Coffee Zombie Art 2008

In 2008, I made the great pilgrimage to Burning Man in Black Rock City, Nevada.  As part of a camp called the Coffee Zombies, we gifted about 30-40 gallons of fresh coffee to fellow burners every single day.   I swore I would only ever go if there was coffee involved… how prophetic my musings were.  Anyways, I created a bunch of fun banners to jazz up our campsite and give a little group identification among the 50,000 that went that year.

Digital Art created from an original painting based on Coffee Zombies theme camp at Burning Man 2008 18"x24"

Digital Art created from an original painting based on Coffee Zombies theme camp at Burning Man 2008 18″x24″ M. Gilbertsen

Huge coffee cups created from recycled kayak boxes that were used for decoration of the Coffee Zombie theme camp, 2008

Huge coffee cups created from recycled kayak boxes that were used for decoration of the Coffee Zombie theme camp, 2008

… Also used these in my classroom (the coffee cups) to encourage keeping students’ attention whilst I taught Junior English!  They’re each 3 feet tall – hard to miss!  Get the clouds in my coffee reference?  Anybody?

I painted the original “More Sugar Please” poster on recycled photographic canvas then used it to create some adverts for the camp that I didn’t end up going to that year, sniff.

