Metal Trees, 2009

This piece is one of my favorites.  I painted it while locally we were trying to stop a tire reclamation plant from going in down the road from a couple of our schools.  I’m all for being green but the practice that this company was going to use released a huge amount of toxins into the air through the process.  Not okay.

"Metal Trees" acrylic on recycled door, M. Gilbertsen 2008

“Metal Trees” acrylic on recycled door, M. Gilbertsen 2009

I ended up doing a show with this and several other gear-inspired pieces and LOVED hearing what folks felt this piece signified.  They had no idea that the artist was hanging out right behind them!  I loved every dag different interpretation that this piece seemed to pull from people.  That’s what art should do – make you think and think for yourself!  I never let on what my intent was for the work – that wasn’t the point really was it?

Detail from "Metal Trees" M. Gilbertsen, 2009 - Oils on recycled door

Detail from “Metal Trees” M. Gilbertsen, 2009 – Oils on recycled door

