Stageworks Northwest – “The Secret Garden” part 2

Okay more pictures of my process.  I am limiting them so that you won’t be bored by every single detail but you get the jist of the how one of these productions comes about and I think it’s interesting to see how the under-painting affects the final design.

This is underpainting of the faux woodwork I'm creating for the manor interior.

This is underpainting of the faux woodwork I’m creating for the manor interior.

Creating the next layer of paint for the panels.  This was really tedious.  I hate painting woodwork!

Creating the next layer of paint for the panels. This was really tedious. I hate painting woodwork!

Katie helping to work on some of the greenery for the trompe l'oeile secret garden.

Katie helping to work on some of the greenery for the trompe l’oeile secret garden.

Mentoring is an enjoyable part of the process of set design for me especially when you have folks who are good sports and willing to give new things a try!  I try to show techniques and explain my processes so that other members of the troupe can not only help me out with my heavy workload, but also to find another creative outlet to explore.

I do much of the large layout of scenes and then encourage people to help me with different parts of the murals or set pieces.  Everyone has something to contribute and it’s not about perfection – it’s about creating a collaborative mammoth piece of art!

Phantom of the theater!  I was working and directing so many different things I couldn't slow down!  Me and my trusty level to the rescue!

Phantom of the theater! I was working and directing so many different things I couldn’t slow down! Me and my trusty level to the rescue!

Details of finished set.

Details of finished set.

540684_598477170163638_520700720_n 581460_599837453360943_1497344283_n 561977_599837470027608_1799387506_n

