Stageworks Northwest – Set Design “The Secret Garden” Part 1

Longview Theater stage before I painted it as the Secret Garden... Spring 2013

Longview Theater stage before I painted it as the Secret Garden… Spring 2013

Longview Theater, Longview, Washington – Feb or April 2013

Here is the first stages of the set as walls and set peices were getting errected.  Once all that was done I had the job of making it work as a set that only used brief set piece changes to create a different scene.  We have no curtain so some challenges had to be solved with design and creative painting techniques!

Next comes the planning stages…

Okay Grace, what part of the set is THIS supposed to be...?  Consulting in action

Okay Grace, what part of the set is THIS supposed to be…? Consulting in action

and then the painting stages…

The manor walls, after initial brick lines are painted.

The manor walls, after initial brick lines are painted.

and then the re-painting stages…

Now the walls look 3D, baby!  Yeah!  The magic of painting - it never fails to wow me!
Now the walls look 3D, baby! Yeah! The magic of painting – it never fails to wow me!

And then…

blocking in the underpainitng on the interior portion of the manor.

blocking in the underpainitng on the interior portion of the manor.

I just keep painting…

and more painting….

Now blocking in the faux panels on the wainscoting...

Now blocking in the faux panels on the wainscoting… making sure everything was level!

I would be completely lost without my level.  LOST.

                                                                                                        P.S. I did get some of these folks to paint, too!  It’s not just my set – it’s OUR set, I don’t care if you’re an actor!  Now come help me!!

Underpainted entire stage and secret garden wall stonework.
Underpainted entire stage and secret garden wall stonework.
