Giant Squid Zentangle doodle

18x24" Mixed media pen and ink zentangle, M. Gilbertsen 2013

18×24″ Mixed media pen and ink zentangle, M. Gilbertsen 2013

 

Recently I found some interesting doodles on Pinterest that inspired me to try my hand at the zen-concept of just being one with the paper and playing with pattern and design, also known as “zentangling”.   I just had bought some really tasty, large cold-press watercolor paper just begging to be used and so I spent a few hours doodling away my favorite invertebrate.   Most Zentanglers are more free-form in their approach and use a loose square shape to contain their design but I find I like the idea of something to fill in (that way you know you’ll actually be done someday…), anyway here’s mine:

 

The beauty is in the details!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
