Cardboard is king

This was painted in my old studio in St. Helens at The Old School.  I love to make big stuff and this is just one thing I created out of a series of decorations for a local art festival, The St. Helens’ Arts & Eats Festival.

Giant sunflowers painted on recycled kayak box!

Giant sunflowers painted on recycled kayak box!

While I had it, I used the 2″ thick corrugated cardboard for everything!  Cut it with a serrated bread knife and then brown kraft taped the edges and painted it.  Really wish I still had access to this stuff.  It was the perfect medium.  Sniff.

Made the super cool gold frame leaning on the back wall the same way.  I glued on lots of dorky kid’s gee-gaws and sprayed it gold.  Good times for cheap!  It hung in the window of a local gallery for about 6 months.

