“Lucy” linocut

"Lucy"  M. GIlbertsen, linocut 2008 Part of series created for a Halloween show at the Columbia Gallery in St. Helens, Oregon.

“Lucy” M. GIlbertsen, linocut 2008
Part of series created for a Halloween show at the Columbia Gallery in St. Helens, Oregon.

This is another in my series of Lovely Little Children.

It is based on my daughter, Lucy, and it captures her quite nicely!  I was looking to make something simple and graphic that made you look again.  Hopefully you do.  The backing of the print is painted recycled kayak cardboard.  I love using materials that are usually destined for the scrap bin.  It also helped that I had a snootful of it and the show was a week away when I got the inspiration for the work.

A local pediatrician bought a set of these which hang in her waiting room.  I just love imagining what the mothers of the patients are thinking when they see these.  Gah, hope they have a sense of humor!

