“In Case of Emergency, Don’t Break”

"In Case Of Emergency, Don't Break" M. Gilbertsen, Mixed Media, 2009

“In Case Of Emergency, Don’t Break” M. Gilbertsen, Mixed Media, 2009

"In Case Of Emergency, Don't Break" M. Gilbertsen, Mixed Media, 2009
“In Case Of Emergency, Don’t Break” M. Gilbertsen, Mixed Media, 2009

With some lovely rusty metal left over from a show I did on recycled art with metal artist, Jeremy Furnish, in 2009, I created this fun piece after a friend of mine went through a rather nasty break-up.  I found this awesome roll of rusted barbed wire and had to  do something with it!  I really liked the play of the shiny against the matte of the rusty metal and it hangs in my garden  – I wonder how that works for my Feng shui?  (Or Wang Chung, as I prefer to call it.)

