Squid Sgraffito – say that fast 5 times!

2 coats of best black painted on first!

Step 1:  2 coats of best black painted on first!

Sketch a bit of free form squid cause I'm just messing around trying to learn the tools.

Step 2:  Sketch a bit of free form squid cause I’m just messing around trying to learn the tools.

Decided to do a positive carving style... still not sure where this is going.

Step 3:  Decided to do a positive carving style… still not sure where this is going.

You have to keep careful pressure on the leather-hard plate to carve into the surface but not too hard or I stand to break the whole thing!

Step 4:  Don’t stop!  And remember to keep careful pressure on the leather-hard plate to carve into the surface but not too hard or it’ll break the whole thing!

Ta-Dum!  I decided to add a bit of cinnamon colored slip over some of the best black so that I stood out better and had more dimension than the flat image the black only gave me.  Now I have to bisque fire the piece and THEN I still have to glaze it!  Who knows what this bad boy will look lie?

Step 5:  Do a happy dance!  Ta-Dum! I decided to add a bit of cinnamon colored slip over some of the best black so that the image stood out better and had more dimension than the flat image the black only gave me.   Step 6 and 7:  Now I have to bisque fire the piece and THEN I still have to glaze it! Who knows what this bad boy will look like?  I’ll post the final piece when it’s done.

 

 

