‘Hanna” Linocut, 2008. M. Gilbertsen

"Hanna" M. Gilbertsen, Linocut - 2009, Part of series for Halloween show at Columbia Gallery 2009

“Hanna” M. Gilbertsen, Linocut – 2009, Part of series for Halloween show at Columbia Gallery 2009

One of my favorite picture books, “The Ghastly Crumb Tinies” written and illustrated by Edward Gorey, inspired my work with linoleum block printing. His wonderfully macabre picture books of Victorian life never failed to make me cringe with delight. I decided in the spirit of Halloween to make a few Ghastly Crumb Tinies of my own using my children for fun.  I hand carved the image into a piece of linoleum (not the same kind as for your kitchen floor) and then inked and hand burnished each print to create an image. Through the process of hand-inking and printing each print separately, a print is not considered a reproduction, but a unique work of it’s own.

